top of page

Finding a Lost Love

Updated: Aug 17


I saw Love Lost Records were open so I decided to open the phone and dial it up with Charlotte, the owner. We arranged to meet outside their HQ. I arrived early and lit my cigarette. Rockford is a luxurious place with an undoubted elegance; but this is dragged down by the window-shopping locals. The parking attendant came out and questioned me – I told him to beat it, I’m here to cover a story.


Halfway through my cigarette, a dark sports car rolled up alongside and two humans with the most beautiful faces greeted me. I was totally unsure of their vibe. The man, who later introduced himself as Pax, had slick back clean cut hair, donning an equally slick fit.


Alongside him was Charlotte, who later introduced herself as the owner of Love Lost Records, also donned a dark outfit. The pair of them looked much cooler than I. The pair are in a relationship – which I found out only after. They were both cool as hell. Charlotte has tattoos, dark coloured streetwear with fresh golden kicks. Her pink hair paired with a shy, yet almost confrontational, attitude exudes a mysterious aura, leaving you unsure if she wants to go play with rainbows or take you hostage…but it leaves you wanting more.


Pax is one of the duo in Certified Lover Boys, a talented group from the south side who moved their music to Rockford with hopes of claiming the city’s hearts.


Pax outside Love Lost Records HQ

Pax’s confidence is something to admire. He looked me in the eye and offered a selection of music to show me. I wasn’t sure at first…who is this guy? How can he be that cool? I chose the song ‘Diamond’, one of the five options I had. He proceeded to play the tune and it all became so clear.


🎵 Diamond in the rough and you don’t want to see it too, won’t you let yourself shine 🎵


I think that’s what the lyrics were. It was hard to hear over the increasingly deafening sound of the incoming rain storm battling in noise with the roar of Rockford traffic.


Pax posing whilst the mysterious Charlotte hides in her car

It’s crazy the way world works. By chance I met these guys presenting me with the best music to hit the city. They eventually told me of their Hard to Love, Easy to Hate album release concert hosted at Vespucci Beach on Feb 17th 8-11pm EST. Charlotte effortlessly posts a promotional Yeet as she is discussing this with me.



I’ll try to be there.


Comments


FiveM_b2944_GTAProcess_FiveM_by_Cfx.re_-_New_Day_RP_2.6__Whitelisted__Ma_2024-01-03_19.23_
sc55Pq6_edited.jpg
bottom of page